Skip to Content

LEED Certification

In the United States and numerous countries around the world, Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) certification is the recognized standard for measuring building sustainability. The LEED green building rating system, developed and administered by the U.S. Green building rating system, is designed to promote design and construction practices that increase profitability while reducing the negative environmental impacts of buildings and improving occupant health and well-being.

The LEED rating system offer four certification levels -- Certified, Silver, Gold and Platinum. These levels correspond to the number of credits accrued in the design categories. A key component is energy conservation. However, LEED also considers the impact of water consumption and re-use, transportation, indoor air quality, and related systems. LEED certification includes a rigorous third-party commissioning process verifying the savings and environmental goals that were documented during the design process. There are many benefits to certification, including local, state and government incentives.

The latest version of the LEED rating system is LEED v4. However, projects can still be registered under LEED 2009 until October 31, 2016. There are five categories within the LEED rating system that address multiple project types:

  • Building Design & Construction
  • Interior Design & Construction
  • Building Operation & Maintenance
  • Neighborhood Development
  • Homes. 

Go to for additional project requirements and up-to-date information about the rating program.

The LEED Certification process can be intimidating and overwhelming at times.  Our team of licensed Professional Engineers can help certify your next LEED project.